Hello Lemon Lovers!

Hello Lemon Lovers,

I just want to let you know that I am taking a short blogging break as I had Lasik surgery at the end of the week and the eyes tire easily on the computer.  That didn’t stop me from making my Mile High Lemon Meringue Pie on Sunday, though.  🙂  This time I used 6 Tbs. each of flour and cornstarch so that the filling would be thick enough to slice at room temperature.  The crust is so much more flakier when it doesn’t have to be refrigerated.   Yum!

While I have several drafts of lemony posts in the queue, including some great products to feature, for now allow me to share an entry written about a weekend trip to Portland, OR in order to give you the scoop on an independent bakery called Cupcake Jones.   I confess that their Velvet Painting Cupcake is my hands down favorite and one bite makes me swoon, but the “Lemoncello” Cupcake makes the heart-strings sing as well.  I could not believe how much it tastes like Lemon Meringue Pie!   Be sure to visit Cupcake Jones next time you are in Portland.   In the meantime, you can read a bit about the owners, Oregon natives Lisa Watson and Peter Shanky, and view their daily specials and monthly menus to inspire your desire.

 
 
 

♥An Anniversary Weekend in Portland♥

Anniversaries are supposed to be spent with, not away, from your loved one.  But after an anniversary weekend in Portland, Oregon, I guess I can’t complain…too much.  It was on this day, so many years ago, that I realized two of my dreams for the future: one, to see Macy Gray in concert and two, to fall in love.  It was the first time I saw Macy, and my beau, in person.  Neither of us, my beau and I that is, have looked back since.

One of the many endearing things about our relationship is that even though I can never remember the date or year we met, although I ask on a nearly monthly basis, he patiently tells me again and again.  Thus the “so many years ago” reference above.  I know this is the day, though, because I already received a Happy Anniversary email which I was supposed to sing to the tune of The William Tell Overture.  I will demand a serenading when we check in this evening by phone.

For now I will relish in the recent memory of our weekend, basking in the turquoise decor of The Nines, visiting the Portland Art Museum to view the work of Mark Rothko only to be swept away instead by the haunting genius of John Frame’s The Tale of the Crippled Boy, stumbling upon an open air swing dance exhibition, ogling at the mind-boggling wrap-around line of patrons waiting for their Sunday morning Voodoo donuts, sharing a red ale at The Rogue (where we also picked up a big pink bottle of their Voodoo Bacon Maple Ale) delighting in the decadent offerings of Cupcake Jones, walking and browsing and people watching in the Pearl District, trying on eyeliners and lipsticks at every girls’ candy store, Sephora, and picking out my first pair of non-prescription designer sunglasses in preparation for Lasik surgery.  Well, I did the last two and he tried to hide any impatience while offering a best guess when called upon to express an opinion.

And today, we are still as happy, even more so, than we were ever so many years ago. 

“And just how many years ago from today?” I ask again after he serenades me to the tune of  The William Tell Overture without any prompting.

“How many years ago from today what?” he teases.

“You know, for how many years ago from today have we been together?” I inquire sweetly.

“Less than ten, more than eight,” he indulges, sighing in what I know is mock exasperation. 

“Do you still have that concert ticket stub?” I ask, already knowing the answer.

Indeed he does. 

Voodoo Doughnut devotees wait in line. Locals and visitors alike can be seen walking throughout town on any given day proudly carrying the signature Pepto-Bismol pink colored box.  Maple Bacon Bars anyone?

Decadent delicacies from Cupcake Jones, Portland, OR. Back Row: Lemoncello, Chocolate Chip Cookie, and my favorite, Velvet Painting–a red velvet cake with a crunchy outer cake layer, moist inside, vanilla bean pastry cream filling, and soft cream cheese frosting topped with a hand candied rose petal. Front Row: German Chocolate, What’s Up Doc? (carrot cake with candied carrot slice), and Peter’s Chocolate Mint.

A stroll through South Park Blocks, Portland, OR, on the way to the Portland Art Museum.

Leave a Reply

